Rose & Goji Berry Raw Chocolates – To DIE For!


Raw Chocolates

So the picture above means you already want to make these for yourself, right?! And so you should! These solid dark chocolates remind me of a Turkish paradise (ok, a ‘Turkish Delight’ paradise anyway) and as you crunch into them you find the delicate flavour of rose and also little chewy pieces of goji berries, all tantalising your taste buds. It’s a sensation not to be missed I promise. These are only my second venture into the world of raw chocolate making, so I’m pretty pleased they came out looking like this and also tasted so great!

After watching a programme on TV about raw chocolate making, where they showed a quick overview of the process and the types of ingredients involved, but didn’t give any quantities of each, I decided I would just have a go for myself. As with most times I decide to ‘try’ something,  I just winged the quantities and added a few of my own ingredients, weighing and writing them down in case I came up with a genius recipe I’d want to repeat. The first batch were not bad, but they weren’t perfect – they didn’t have that ‘snap’ that chocolate has when it’s bitten into or broken apart, being softer than they should be. I put this down to two things – firstly I added quite a quantity of coconut oil which, as you probably know, is fairly soft even when in its solid state; secondly, I went overboard adding powdered ingredients, so the liquid was swamped and therefore couldn’t ‘set’ into a solid again. Oh and finally, I didn’t reheat the chocolate mixture to enable it to set with a lovely glossy coat. Lessons learned. Moving on to my second batch…

(Before I go on I should say sorry to my friend Jenny, who got some of the first batch but still insisted they were lovely! The second batch was MUCH better I’m pleased to say – as verified by 2 other friends – and this is what I’m sharing with you today.)

Armed with the knowledge of how NOT to make a crisp chocolate, I started over, this time with less powdered ingredients and MUCH less coconut oil.

This is my recipe for Rose and Goji Berry Raw Chocolates.

Ingredients (makes about 30 chocolates, depending on mould size used):

  • 125g raw cacao butter
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil
  • ¼ cup agave nectar (or pure maple syrup for a different base-flavoured chocolate)
  • ¼ cup raw cacao powder
  • 3 tbsp. maca powder
  • 3 tbsp. lucuma powder
  • ¼ tsp. rose water
  • 2 tbsp. dried goji berries, chopped into very small pieces

Method:

  • Place the cacao butter and coconut oil in a bowl, over a pan of simmering water, making sure the water is not touching the underside of the bowl. Wait until the cacao butter has melted then remove the bowl from over the pan.
  • Add the powdered ingredients and use a small whisk to incorporate fully into the liquid.
  • Add the rose water and agave nectar or maple syrup and stir briefly.
  • To make the chocolate more glossy when set, you should now re-heat the chocolate mixture to 42 degrees C, or do as I did and just reheat for a few minutes over the bain-marie again (I don’t actually own a chocolate thermometer).
  • Lastly add the goji berries and mix in briefly.
  • The mixture should be fairly runny, free-flowing enough to easily spoon it into little silicon chocolate moulds. You don’t need to line or grease the moulds. If you use a solid/hard mould the chocolates will not be as easy to get out so try to get hold of a pliable one.
  • Once the moulds are full, place into the fridge for at least half an hour until the chocolates have set.
  • Press the chocolates out from underneath, turning the mould inside out if necessary to coax the chocolates out.
  • Enjoy at will 🙂

You may read the above list of ingredients and think, “what the hell is all that?”, and I admit, these are not your average store-cupboard ingredients. But if you do decide to get into raw chocolate making, you will need at least the raw cacao butter and the raw cacao powder. The ingredients you add after that are up to you.

As well as the rose & goji berry chocolates above, I also made some plain raw chocolates, this time with just a little pink Himalayan sea salt added to the mix instead of the rose water & goji berries. These were equally as gorgeous but without that mysterious rose flavouring. I used a different mould for these, a nice square one with lines in the base (which becomes the top of the chocolate).

Raw ChocolatesHappy chocolate making, and remember, there’s no guilt when eating these raw chocolates – so the pleasure should be ALL YOURS.

Janice.

Leave a Reply

