Think You Don’t Like Broccoli? Think Again! (Gorgeous Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe)


I hope I’ve got your attention from the title of this post… I would go as far as to say that even someone who thinks they HATE broccoli is going to love my latest  creation. Bold statement? Yes! True? I hope so! Leave me your comments when you’ve made it 🙂

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

First of all I have to apologise for not writing a post for some time. I could make excuses such as I’ve been busy working, looking after family, working out, working on other projects etc… and all of those would be true, but I guess once I’d not blogged here for a while it was just harder to get back to it. This is not to say I’ve not had a million things in my head I’ve wanted to talk about, because I have, but just that I haven’t got round to it. Sorry!

So, here I am now with a recipe that I’m most confident you will LOVE! This is neither a complicated recipe nor one you may not have seen in similar form before, but with my magic ingredient I’m sure you will have another new take on broccoli soup very soon. It’s low in fat, high in protein and great for those cold winter days when you long for something comforting and satisfying.

The recipe came about somewhat by accident, as I hunted around the kitchen for ingredients to put into a broccoli soup. I have a couple of broccoli soup recipes that I like to make but wanted to make this one the very best I could but still very simple, so I thought I’d pick some ingredients from both recipes to make one fantastic creation. The only trouble was, I didn’t have any white potatoes at home. I wanted to add a white potato to give the soup some thickness and creaminess, without having to add real cream to it, but I was out. So, hunting around my cupboards I saw a box of semolina sat there, waiting to be opened. Thick? Creamy? Oh yes! I knew it wouldn’t alter the taste of the soup too much but would definitely thicken it, so that was my ‘magic’ ingredient that I went out on a limb with, and it turned out to be the best thing I’ve ever added to a soup! So without further ado, I present:

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

Makes 2 servings (or 3 if you prefer a thinner soup)

Per Serving: 233 calories, 37g carbs, 15g protein, 4g fat (2g saturated), 8g sugar

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium/large head of broccoli
  • 1 medium/large onion (the brown skin variety work well and do not colour your soup like a red onion would)
  • ¼ cup semolina
  • ½ a low sodium chicken stock cube
  • 1-2 cups boiling water initially, plus more to thin the soup later
  • 1oz / 25-30g half fat mature cheddar cheese, grated
  • Black pepper to taste

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

Directions:

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • Chop the head of broccoli into bite-sized pieces and cook them until tender, by either blanching in boiling water for 3-4 minutes or by putting in a microwaveable container with 2-3 tablespoons of water, covering and microwaving for around 3 minutes. If you like a crunchier soup you could instead fry the broccoli in a little coconut oil for 3-4 minutes until starting to soften.

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • Chop the onion finely and brown off in a hot frying pan or wok for 2-3 minutes.

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • Add ⅔ of the broccoli and ⅔ of the onion to a food processor or blender, together with the stock cube, boiling water and semolina, and blend until smooth. Add more water if it is too thick to blend successfully.

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • Add the blended vegetable mixture to a pan together with the remaining cooked vegetables and place over a low/medium heat to simmer. Stir.
  • If the soup is too thick for your liking add more boiling water to thin it down to the consistency you prefer, or you could instead add unsweetened coconut milk or even full fat coconut milk if that’s what takes your fancy!

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • Simmer for just 3-4 minutes then add the grated cheese and a sprinkle of black pepper, stirring until the cheese is melted.

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • Taste, adjust seasoning and serve!

So there you have it, a bowl of deliciousness (is that a word?!). And those of you who think they don’t like broccoli, please make this as you will be surprised how good it tastes, you won’t even believe it’s broccoli at all (apart from those give-away little lumps of broccoli in it!). And if you don’t like lumpy soup, just add ALL of the vegetables to the blender to make it silky smooth instead.

The soup will freeze for up to a month if you do not eat it all within a couple of days, although how you are to resist finishing off such a tempting, tasty treat the next day (or even the same day!) is beyond me.

I want to just add a little about semolina. Semolina is (most usually) made from the middlings of durum wheat, which is the type of wheat commonly used to make pasta. Semolina has a high protein content, making it perfect for both energising you and keeping you full for longer. I believe that semolina may be called Cream of Wheat in the U.S., so if you’ve never heard of semolina but cream of wheat sounds familiar to you, that is what you’ll need for this recipe. Semolina, coming from wheat, is NOT gluten free, so those who are intolerant to gluten may want to give this version of the recipe a miss, but instead could just swap the semolina for a medium-sized, cooked, white potato, which I’m sure would be just as tasty.

So, off to the kitchen with your cheesy broccoli soup recipe now, and let me know what you think in the comments below or by posting a message to the Easy Tasty Clean Facebook page.

Happy cooking!

Janice.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

