When to Stop / Book Up For Grabs


Good day everyone, the start of another working week for most, and life without the Olympics – what will we do now that’s over? I guess we must move on and find something else to keep our interest going!

I haven’t watched too much of the games but I’ve caught all the important moments, many of them involving Team GB winning gold medals, which is amazing. So well done them. Shame Usain Bolt didn’t break the 100m or 200m world records but we all know he could if he tried 😉 It was fun to watch anyway.

So the finish line has passed for the Olympians, mine is still somewhere in the distance in terms of getting my Easy Tasty Clean book out there for general consumption. The question is… when to stop? Without counting, I’m guessing I have about 50 recipes in the book now, breakfasts, main meals, savoury snacks & sweet snacks, they’re all there in glorious technicolour. Originally I was aiming for 40 recipes, and when I discovered I’d already got to 45 I thought, well, 50 sounds like a good number. When I’m flicking through the pages I find myself thinking, wow, how on earth have I got to this point, it’s a LOT of stuff! So I feel proud of what I’ve achieved in a relatively short space of time, but how do I know when to stop?

I think that now my targetted release date is getting closer I’m starting to think more about what you people who will (hopefully!) download it will think of it. Are there enough recipes? Is there enough variety? What if people don’t like the taste? Have I catered for Vegetarians enough? As you can see, in my head the panic has slightly set in! I know I can’t please absolutely everyone all of the time but public opinion does matter to me, after all it’s your comments that will either spur other people on to get the book for themselves, or you could totally put people off from one bad comment. That’s not to say I want false praise, that’s almost as bad, but I just want it to be well received and liked by many. I have these little moments of panic every now and again but I know it will pass. Once I go over the pages of the book again I will feel more secure in the knowledge that I have cooked, photographed, tasted and written every single recipe in the book, and nothing is photoshopped to make it look better than it will when you make it, it’s all real.

BUT in the spirit of wanting things to be perfect, I am looking for 8-10 volunteers to try out some recipes for me, so if you’re up for it send an email to janice@easytastyclean.com and let me know whether you’d like to try a breakfast, savoury snack, sweet snack or main meal out for me. The first 6 will get their pick of dish to make and I will expect you to make it and send me back a little review within 7 days (no pressure!). I’m not looking for literary genius, just an honest opinion. Tell me if there’s any ingredients you can’t have. Obviously the information I send is completely confidential so I don’t expect it to be shared around freely thank you very much!! Oh, and one of the lucky ‘reviewers’, randomly picked out of a virtual hat, will get a free copy of the book the day it’s released. Sound good? Email me!

Speaking of sharing around… after speaking with another friend who is releasing her eBook very soon, I realise I need to get mine copyrighted, to prevent the contents being ‘borrowed’ by others, so this will be done the moment the final word is added to the book. It won’t affect the release date though.

In other news, I have taken on (yet another) challenge – starting September 1st I will be following Nancy Reinhardt’s month-long Challenge! I have taken my ‘before’ pictures so there’s no going back now, hee hee. The challenge involves a free weights program with some cardio and will hopefully get me back into better shape. After doing this book pretty much full time for the past couple of months I’ve let my exercise program slip, so I need to get back into it. Does anyone want to join me in the challenge? You only have 2 more days to sign up and the program will be sent out to you on September 1st. ‘After’ pictures have to be submitted by October 3rd. Of course, seeing as I look after Nancy’s website I can’t really win it, that wouldn’t be ethical, but I’m still very much up for committing to the challenge. See Nancy’s download page for more details.

So, who wants to be a guinea pig tester for me?

Janice.

4 comments

  1. I would love to try recipes and to be put in your virtual hat to receive a free book!

    Thanks,

    Bonni D Your dreams are not yours by accident. It’s your job to make them come true.

    ________________________________

  2. well obviously I’m game sister! and I’ll be more than happy to purchase the book in support of all of your valiant efforts by friend. xo

Leave a Reply

