Winning AND Losing


So it’s the weekend, in fact it’s a VERY long weekend as I have the next week off work. Well, off my day job I should say. The time I’ll have to myself over the next few days has come at just the right time as I have lots going on in my head regarding my new book, lots of ideas for recipes, photographs, page layouts, in fact everything that this project encompasses. I need this week to get some of those ideas out of my head and onto paper (or onto a plate!) or I’m in danger of exploding!

Last night I made a great recipe for my evening meal, but of course I couldn’t just make my dinner and eat it, oh no, every time I cook at the moment I’m trying to make something different, so I can cook it, photograph it and get it into the book. It’s the only way I’m going to make serious headway into getting this project moving. As it stands I have about a dozen recipes done, which I’ve managed to do in the last couple of weeks, so I’m managing about one per day, which I suppose is not bad going seeing as I only have evenings and the weekends to spend on this.

In the last few days I have sent samples of pages of my book to a couple of friends to get their opinion, see if they like the style of what I’m doing and if they think it’s worth me carrying on with it. Luckily for me, they have come back with a big resounding YES! In fact one of my opinion-pollees said (and I quote)

“It is ******* real food done well and done simply and it’s food real people eat! Even better than Tosca’s in my opinion.”

Now that’s something I can’t say I ever thought I would hear, especially not so early in the project. But now it’s been said I feel just a touch (ok, a helluvalot!) more pressure to produce something amazing! I will try people! Thanks for the vote of confindence though, you know who you are 😉  And sorry, Tosca!

So the title of this post is Winning AND Losing, and at the moment I am definitely doing both. But maybe not in the sense you might think. I am definitely winning as this project feels right for me, I love doing it and I am producing some great work AND it’s all my own! But what am I losing? WEIGHT! Yes, in my efforts to make balanced, clean meals I think I have been feeding my body exactly what it needs, in the right proportions, and it has decided to shed a couple of pounds in the past week! I now weigh what I did when I was 20. I’m not particularly trying to lose weight, although I would still like to swap a little more of my body fat for muscle, so it will be interesting to see whether this trend continues as I get deeper into the project.

Have a great weekend everyone, and please tell me what you would like to know about this project!

2 comments

  1. Janice, this is very exciting. I am going to try one of your recipes this week! Thank you for sharing them with me at this early stage.

Leave a Reply

